Skip to main content

Microsoft Excel – Presentation 01: Delete everything out of cells A1-B4 so that you are working from a blank worksheet. — Part 5

Microsoft Excel 2007: Printing Worksheets and Basic Formulas (Part 5)

Explore “Printing Worksheets and Basic Formulas” in this Microsoft Excel 2007 lesson. Part 5 of the five-part series brings together the source material and lesson topics. Use the contents links to find a section, read the notes, and consult the complete original teaching slides below.

Cover slide of Microsoft Excel - Presentation 01
Original source: Microsoft Excel – Presentation 01.

Lesson topics

  • Adjusting spreadsheets
  • Various print options are located on the “Print” menu.
  • This is very helpful when having issues getting things to print correctly.
  • Basic Formulas
  • Delete everything out of cells A1-B4 so that you are working from a blank worksheet.

Contents

  1. Read the original document
  2. Adjusting spreadsheets
  3. Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after usi
  4. To get to the “Page Setup” Menu, select the Page Layout Tab, then click the small arrow in the corner.
  5. You may change the Orientation, adjust the size of the spreadsheet, change the margins, add a header/foot
  6. Various print options are located on the “Print” menu.
  7. Under the “Page layout” tab, you can adjust the “Print area”. This is the area that will be on the printe
  8. Under the “Page layout” tab, click on the arrow in the bottom corner to get the Page setup menu.
  9. This is very helpful when having issues getting things to print correctly.
  10. Basic Formulas
  11. Delete everything out of cells A1-B4 so that you are working from a blank worksheet.
  12. Formulas always begin with an equal (=) sign. Type =5+5 into a cell. Press enter to move to the cell belo
  13. The answer appears after you exit the cell.
  14. If you go back to the original cell, you will see the formula in the “Formula Bar.”
  15. To add, use +
  16. Excel calculates in the following order:
  17. Formulas can be created based on values in other cells. The formula, “=A1+A2” adds the values in A1 and A
  18. In cells A1-A7 type a 3 digit number in each cell.
  19. AutoSum quickly adds the numbers in cells. Simply highlight the numbers to be added, then click on the Au
  20. Click the small arrow next to the AutoSum icon to see other functions available.
  21. Error Messages
  22. For additional help with Excel, including formulas and functions, be sure to access the “Help” menu.
  23. Practice Test
  24. Let’s create a fake budget for a fake community.
  25. Now try to create the formulas needed to finish the spreadsheet.
  26. You will use”
  27. All highlighted cells need to be solved with basic formulas.

REQUEST THE COMPLETE DOCUMENT ON WHATSAPP

Read the original source document

Microsoft Excel – Presentation 01: original teaching slides for this study series.

Open the original document in Google Drive

Adjusting spreadsheets

Adjusting spreadsheets

Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after usi

Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after using Print Preview. The lines indicate the page breaks.

To get to the “Page Setup” Menu, select the Page Layout Tab, then click the small arrow in the corner.

To get to the “Page Setup” Menu, select the Page Layout Tab, then click the small arrow in the corner.

You may change the Orientation, adjust the size of the spreadsheet, change the margins, add a header/foot

You may change the Orientation, adjust the size of the spreadsheet, change the margins, add a header/footer, and more.

Various print options are located on the “Print” menu.

Various print options are located on the “Print” menu.

Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after usi

Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after using Print Preview. The lines indicate the page breaks.

Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after usi

Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after using Print Preview. The lines indicate the page breaks.

Under the “Page layout” tab, you can adjust the “Print area”. This is the area that will be on the printe

Under the “Page layout” tab, you can adjust the “Print area”. This is the area that will be on the printed copy of your spreadsheet.

Under the “Page layout” tab, click on the arrow in the bottom corner to get the Page setup menu.

Under the “Page layout” tab, click on the arrow in the bottom corner to get the Page setup menu.

This is very helpful when having issues getting things to print correctly.

This is very helpful when having issues getting things to print correctly. In the Page setup menu you can choose “Fit to ___ pages wide by ___ pages tall.

Basic Formulas

Basic Formulas

Delete everything out of cells A1-B4 so that you are working from a blank worksheet.

Delete everything out of cells A1-B4 so that you are working from a blank worksheet.

Formulas always begin with an equal (=) sign. Type =5+5 into a cell. Press enter to move to the cell belo

Formulas always begin with an equal (=) sign. Type =5+5 into a cell. Press enter to move to the cell below.

The answer appears after you exit the cell.

The answer appears after you exit the cell.

If you go back to the original cell, you will see the formula in the “Formula Bar.”

If you go back to the original cell, you will see the formula in the “Formula Bar.”

To add, use +

To add, use + To subtract, use – To multiply, use To divide, use /

Excel calculates in the following order:

Excel calculates in the following order: Parentheses Multiplication and Division Addition and Subtraction

Formulas can be created based on values in other cells. The formula, “=A1+A2” adds the values in A1 and A

Formulas can be created based on values in other cells. The formula, “=A1+A2” adds the values in A1 and A2.

REQUEST THE COMPLETE DOCUMENT ON WHATSAPP

Important Concepts

Important Concepts.

In cells A1-A7 type a 3 digit number in each cell.

In cells A1-A7 type a 3 digit number in each cell.

AutoSum quickly adds the numbers in cells. Simply highlight the numbers to be added, then click on the Au

AutoSum quickly adds the numbers in cells. Simply highlight the numbers to be added, then click on the AutoSum icon. The answer will appear in the next cell.

Click the small arrow next to the AutoSum icon to see other functions available.

Click the small arrow next to the AutoSum icon to see other functions available.

Error Messages

Error Messages #DIV/0 (Dividing by 0) #NAME? (Formula name or cell reference is not recognized) #REF! (Cell does not exist) #VALUE! (A cell with text can NOT work with formula) ####### (Appears when column is too narrow to display results)

Circular Reference Error

Circular Reference Error

The “Circular Reference” error appears when a formula or function refers to its own cell.

The “Circular Reference” error appears when a formula or function refers to its own cell.

For additional help with Excel, including formulas and functions, be sure to access the “Help” menu.

For additional help with Excel, including formulas and functions, be sure to access the “Help” menu.

Practice Test

Practice Test

Let’s create a fake budget for a fake community.

Let’s create a fake budget for a fake community. Copy the following information and try to get formatting to match.

Now try to create the formulas needed to finish the spreadsheet.

Now try to create the formulas needed to finish the spreadsheet.

You will use”

You will use” =SUM( ) and XX*##

All highlighted cells need to be solved with basic formulas.

All highlighted cells need to be solved with basic formulas.

Review questions and answers

What are the key points about Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after usi?

Click on Print Preview before printing the worksheet. Dotted lines will appear on the worksheet after using Print Preview. The lines indicate the page breaks.

What are the key points about To get to the “Page Setup” Menu, select the Page Layout Tab, then click the small arrow in the corner.?

To get to the “Page Setup” Menu, select the Page Layout Tab, then click the small arrow in the corner.

What are the key points about You may change the Orientation, adjust the size of the spreadsheet, change the margins, add a header/foot?

You may change the Orientation, adjust the size of the spreadsheet, change the margins, add a header/footer, and more.

What are the key points about Under the “Page layout” tab, you can adjust the “Print area”. This is the area that will be on the printe?

Under the “Page layout” tab, you can adjust the “Print area”. This is the area that will be on the printed copy of your spreadsheet.

What are the key points about Under the “Page layout” tab, click on the arrow in the bottom corner to get the Page setup menu.?

Under the “Page layout” tab, click on the arrow in the bottom corner to get the Page setup menu.

More lessons from this document

  1. Microsoft Excel – Presentation 01 — Part 1
  2. Microsoft Excel – Presentation 01 — Part 2
  3. Microsoft Excel – Presentation 01 — Part 3
  4. Microsoft Excel – Presentation 01 — Part 4
  5. Microsoft Excel – Presentation 01 — Part 5

Conclusion

The important points in Delete everything out of cells A1-B4 so that you are working from a blank worksheet. should be reviewed alongside the definitions, examples and comparisons given above. Continue with the other four articles to cover the rest of the source material.

REQUEST THE COMPLETE DOCUMENT ON WHATSAPP

Scroll to Top
Changia Notes / Document